May is Cystic Fibrosis awareness month. After many surgeries, infections and hospitalizations, my brother was placed on the transplant list and received a double lung transplant three years ago because of this disease. He just lost yet another of his closest friends to cystic fibrosis, one who had her transplant at the same time as him.

To him and our family, this is a reminder of his continued and coming suffering, and his inevitable death from this disease unless a cure or significant improvement in treatment is found very soon.

For her, her family, my brother, our family and for me, I beg you please register (or check if you think you already are) as an organ donor at beadonor.ca.

Additionally, my wife and I are participating in the Walk to Make Cystic Fibrosis History in two weeks. Please considering making a donation to help us raise much needed funds for research. All funds go to Cystic Fibrosis Canada and every dollar makes a difference in the longevity and quality of my brother’s life and so many others who face this battle daily.

